FLC News

The Next Phase of The FLC Awards is Here - 2017 FLC Awards

flc award news banner

The 2017 FLC Awards is now open for nominations. One of the most coveted honors in the technology transfer field, the FLC awards have been presented to over 200 federal laboratories since their inception in 1984. Many of our winning technology transfer efforts have gone on to become products and devices that are indispensable in our daily lives, including:

New Online Format

The FLC Awards has now moved to a completely online process. You will be able to complete and submit your nominations through a web portal specially designed for the Consortium. No more downloading of files or submissions via email. We have worked tirelessly to make this our most user-friendly submission process ever!

Click here to learn more about the 2017 nomination process, the award categories in which you can submit nominations, and access the nomination forms themselves.

If you are unfamiliar with the process of submitting nominations online, a tutorial has been developed to walk you through the process. ~1@BODYURL[id=166DWcurl74]@ to find out more.

New Sub-Category – Technology Focus Award

The FLC is proud to introduce its newest awards sub-category – the Executive Board Technology Focus Award.

As part of the FLC’s new Tech Focus initiative, this award will be presented to a nominee or nominees selected by the FLC EB from the usual categories of awards for tech transfer efforts related to the featured technology under the initiative. The inaugural Technology Focus award will recognize water-related technology transfer.

Nominations considered for the Tech Focus award may be from within any of the traditional FLC Award categories, including:

  • Excellence in Technology Transfer
  • Interagency Partnership
  • Laboratory Director of the Year
  • Outstanding Technology Transfer Professional
  • Rookie of the Year
  • FLC Service Award
  • State and Local Economic Development

The nomination form must include an abstract that describes how the technology transfer activity or activities in the nomination demonstrate(s) innovation and/or creativity in transferring the focus (water) technology, product or service and the impact or results of the tech transfer activity in the technology focus area. A nomination for this sub-category will be considered for an award regardless of whether or not it is selected as a winner in the category it was originally submitted under. 

More details on this new sub-category of award can be found ~1@BODYURL[id=166DWcurl66]@.

Important Deadline Information

The deadlines to submit your nominations in the following categories are:

Monday, November 14, 2016

  • Award for Excellence in Technology Transfer
  • Interagency Partnership Award
  • Outstanding Technology Transfer Professional Award
  • Rookie of the Year Award
  • Service Awards
  • State and Local Economic Development Award

Monday, December 5, 2016

  • Laboratory Director of the Year Award

Want to Write A Nomination That Gets Noticed? Our New How-To Video Tutorial Can Help

If you’re new to writing nominations or if you’re experienced but looking for an edge to get the judges’ attention, be sure to watch our tutorial. This brief video provides inside tips on what makes an ideal nomination, as well as a list of do’s and don’ts. You can watch this ~1@BODYURL[id=166DWcurl67]@ on the ~1@BODYURL[id=166DWcurl68]@ channel.

Still Have Questions?

If you have questions or require assistance, contact Michele Chambers at ~1@BODYURL[id=166DWcurl70]@. Thank you and good luck!

FLC News