FLC News

Big Announcement – New FLC Award Categories and Criteria Updates!

The FLC national awards program will be implementing several changes for the 2020 awards season! For 35 years, the awards program has been honoring outstanding achievements in technology transfer (T2) by federal laboratories and their partners. The 2020 season will continue that tradition—and also add two new awards categories as well as update awards criteria.

New Award Categories

  • Technology Transfer Innovation Award – Recognizes federal laboratories that successfully implement innovative or unconventional T2 approaches that result in a significant increase in T2 activities.
  • Impact Award – Honors employees of FLC-member labs and non-laboratory staff whose T2 efforts have made a tangible and lasting impact on the populace or marketplace, ranging from a local to a global scale.

FLC Awards Criteria Changes

  • Revised criteria in each category for 2020
  • Updates reflect a continuous evolution of the T2 process
  • New word count requirement for concise nominations

Returning Categories

Eight award categories ranging from Excellence in Technology Transfer to FLC Service Awards and the Technology Focus Award will be returning in 2020. A complete list of new and returning award categories and detailed criteria can be found on the FLC Awards webpage.

To view the 2020 FLC national awards preview announcement in its entirety, click here.

2020 FLC awards nominations will open August 19. For questions about the FLC awards program and updates to the 2020 season, contact Michele Chambers at awards@federallabs.org.

FLC News