FLC News

FLC Now Accepting Nominations for 2020 Awards

The 2020 FLC awards nominations period is now open.  Since the awards were first presented in 1984, more than 200 federal laboratories have received FLC awards, one of the most coveted honors in the technology transfer field. Many of our winning technology transfer efforts have gone on to become products and devices that are indispensable in our daily lives, including:

  • Digital mammography to detect breast cancer (2002)
  • Rechargeable lithium batteries (2004)
  • Gardasil™ vaccine against human papilloma virus (2007)
  • Proton therapy system used to treat prostate cancer (2008)
  • Truck side guards that help prevent collisions with pedestrians and cyclists (2016)
  • A 3D printed microscope that fits over a smartphone (2017)
  • A wireless detector that can instantaneously detect a gunshot fired indoors (2019).

To view more examples of past award winners, visit the FLC Awards Gallery.

Categories and Deadlines

Expanding on their already prestigious reputation, the 2020 FLC awards will honor a wide range of technology transfer successes—from traditional partnerships to unorthodox efforts that led to making federal technologies accessible in our everyday lives.

The 2020 FLC awards will mark the debut of two new categories:

  • Technology Transfer Innovation Award – Recognizes federal laboratories that successfully implement innovative or unconventional technology transfer (T2) approaches that result in a significant increase in T2 activities.
  • Impact Award – Honors employees of FLC member laboratories and non-laboratory staff whose technology transfer efforts have made a tangible and lasting impact on the populace or marketplace, ranging from a local to a global scale.


  • Technology Transfer Innovation Award
  • Impact Award
  • Excellence in Technology Transfer Award
  • Interagency Partnership Award
  • State and Local Economic Development Award
  • Technology Focus Award
  • Rookie of the Year Award
  • Outstanding Technology Transfer Professional Award
  • FLC Service Award
    • Harold Metcalf Award
    • Outstanding Service Award
  • Representative of the Year


  • Laboratory Director of the Year Award

Complete category descriptions and criteria can be found on the online submission page.

Submit Nominations Online

You can complete and submit your nominations through the FLC online submission portal. You no longer need to download files or send nominations via email.

To learn more about the 2020 nomination process, the award categories in which you can submit nominations, and to access the nomination forms, visit the online submission portal at https://flc.secure-platform.com/a.

If you are unfamiliar with the process of submitting nominations online, we developed a tutorial that walks you through the process. Click here to find out more. 

For questions regarding the 2020 FLC awards program, contact Michele Chambers at awards@federallabs.org

FLC News