Programs & Funding

The Albert Einstein Distinguished Educator Fellowship (AEF) Program provides a unique opportunity for accomplished K-12 educators in the fields of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) to serve in the national education arena. Fellows spend eleven months working in a Federal agency or in a U.S. Congressional office, bringing their extensive knowledge and experience in the classroom to education program and/or education policy efforts.

Current sponsoring agencies include: the Department of Energy (DOE), the National Science Foundation (NSF), the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), the and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA). The DOE sponsors up to four placements in congressional offices.

The Albert Einstein Distinguished Educator Fellowship Act was signed into law in November 1994 and gives the DOE the responsibility for managing the program (Fellowship Act Public Law 103-382, Improving America's Schools Act of 1994). The DOE Office of Science's Office of Workforce Development for Teachers and Scientists (WDTS) manages this program for DOE in collaboration with the Triangle Coalition for STEM Education and the Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education (ORISE).

Some outstanding contributions of past Einstein Fellows include:

Designing and implementing national science, math, and technology education programs;
Initiating collaborations and partnerships among Federal agencies;
Drafting legislation and advising on policies that seek to improve K-12 education in the United States;
Creating web-based science education tools; and
Establishing and evaluating national and regional programs centered on school reform and teacher preparation in science, mathematics, engineering, and technology.

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share to Google Plus Share to Linkedin